The Never Ending Mile

Standard

Walk with me on my journey of illness to the road of happiness and a life of fulfillment

This mile, I’ve been walking for many years
I’ve fallen too many times, into all the dark holes
splat on my face, attempting to jump all the hurdles
roadblocks everywhere, never a shortage
sitting now on the curb with my crimson tears

Put on my shoes, and take this walk
it’s the only way you’ll ever possibly understand
you’ll stumble and fall around every bend
as this is the mile that never ends

If you can’t walk the walk
don’t talk all the talk
shut up, leave me alone
all you ever do is stalk and stalk

I’m sick and suffering in agonizing pain
I’m not lazy
I’m not crazy
my life through my eyes
appears rather hazy

With no end in sight
slowly losing hope
trying desperately to not lose hold of this rope
uncertain as to whether I can even win this fight

Poison by the handfuls
I…

View original post 169 more words

3 responses »

  1. I am ever amazed at how strong people with chronic illness can be. We so many of us take our health for granted, I appreciate the honesty of this poem. Though I’ve never had to walk in those shoes, I have lost loved ones and can only relate in that aspect. When at a funeral people want to be supportive, but don’t know what to say. And often, what they say sounds trite. I guess all we can do is be there for someone, say little, but let them know that we do care. If that is not enough and you have advice as what we can do as friends or family, I would love to know. How wonderful that we have this medium that can allow some honest discussion. Thank you for sharing this.

    • I didn’t write this, just cross-posted it from another blog (link above). But thanks for your comment! Yeah, it is really challenging to know what to say in times of loss. I usually, as you suggested, just let the person know that I’m there for them. That’s the kind of support I want, in any case, so I try my best to provide it when others need it from me. When I’ve lost someone, or gone through some other kind of trauma, I’m not necessarily looking for wisdom or advice (in fact, I might find wisdom or advice patronizing, like they’re implying that I can’t deal on my own and know better than me). Logically, I do recognize that people who support others in this way are just trying their best in a difficult situation, but strong emotions make logic difficult to listen to. Though people’s preferences vary, personally, I’d rather just hear “I’m so sorry” and “I’m here for you”.

Leave a Reply

