Zentangle Day One

Standard

Zentangle is a meditative, repetitive doodling practice I’ve gotten into lately. In this post, Ziya Temesis describes hir experiences with zentangle as a way of managing hir anxious depression!

a day with depression

Banji’s gotten me into a new trend: Zentangle. The basic idea is to use drawing purposeful, repetitive strokes to enter a calm, zen state – what artists tend to call being “in the zone.” I’ve been having a lot of fun flipping through Banji’s Zentangle books for inspiration and trying things as they meet my fancy.

One of the books she has is particularly interesting: One Zentangle a Day by Beckah Krahula. It teaches the Zentangle method over the course of 6 weeks. I like the idea of having a more structured approach to learning an artistic method, and frankly I need the daily zen practice. I’m hoping it will help me to quiet my mind, focus, and be more intentional in my everyday living – and to manage my anxious depression symptoms.

I started out on the kitchen table with just the book, the same sketchbook I drew the dark horse

View original post 622 more words

2 responses »

  1. Well, I wrote about my experience drawing the first Zentangle and mentioned that I think it could be a good way to manage my anxious depression. I just finished an update on how that’s been going. (quite well!) Thanks very much for the reblog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

