“If I leave my grin behind remind me, that we’re all mad here, and it’s ok”

Standard

cheshire-cattree(Image description:  Cheshire Cat from the Walt Disney animated film Alice in Wonderland.  Pink and magenta striped cartoon cat with large grin sits in a grey tree with its head resting on its front paws.  The background is black as it appears to be nighttime.)

In case anyone is wondering why my handle is cheshirekit, allow me to share what is probably the closest I’ll get to a personal theme song (or at least a theme song for this blog).

Cheshire Kitten is written and performed by SJ Tucker, an awesome geeky folk-rock musician/singer/songwriter.  Website here:  http://sjtucker.com

I’ve always been a huge fan of Alice in Wonderland, both the book and pretty much everything that’s been made about it.  It’s an enjoyable form of escapism from the daily grind, but there’s more to it than that for me:  I’ve always felt that in some way, I’ve been living in Wonderland my whole life.  The Cheshire Cat in particular was my imaginary friend as a child, which I later realized had a lot to do with his symbolism in relation to how I view the world, and to some extent, what I stand for.  “Kit” is the pseudonym I use online (for whatever reason, some other girls at a summer camp in 8th grade saw it fitting to choose that as my “secret nickname” for the pretend sorority we created together.  Classic middle school.  Not so secret anymore I suppose, but then again, nothing from that time really is at this point.)

Anyway, without further ado, the lyrics to Cheshire Kitten:

I grew up seeing things a little differently, appearing, 
disappearing, hardly innocent, nor 
tied down to the ground. 
I learned to roll and tumble with the punches, 
glory in my stripes and spots 
walk by invisible and never make a sound 

But heavy is the crown that’s always hidden 
tender is the heart you never see 
hard and fast shines the grin that we flash, but there’s a vulnerable stripe or two on me. 
Maybe any place outside of Wonderland 
is not for me, my friend. 

If I leave my grin behind, remind me 
that we’re all mad here 
and it’s okay. 
Sun up, sun down the shadows hide me down in 
Wonderland, Wonderland, nobody knows the way,

But if you find it in your dreams, you can 
find it at your day job 
somewhere south of Hell 
Take the path to left or right with 
just your gut to guide you 
the story is not for anyone else to 
tell. 

Go down the rabbit hole and out the other side 

you can’t go home in the middle of the 
magic carpet ride 
you gotta greet the sun before his 
lovely daughter moon 
you can’t forsake the journey for the 
safety of your room 
until you learn your lesson well. 

I have learned to see and hear 
everybody loud and clear 
but the truth comes out in riddles that are 
safe enough to share 
that’s how it is in songs, you see, 
and stripes always look good on me 
whether or not I’m really there (smile hangs in the air) 

But heavy is the burden of the wise ones 

when no one understands a word they say 
the Jabberwock never bothered anyone, 
but nobody believes him to this day 
and why should they? 

If I leave my grin behind, remind me 
we’re all mad here 
and it’s ok. 
Sun up, sun down the shadows find me out in 
Wonderland, Wonderland, nobody knows the way 
but if you find it in your dreams, 
you can find it at your day job 
somewhere south of Hell 
Take the path to left or right with 
just your gut to guide you 
the story’s not for anyone else to 
tell. 

You gotta go down the rabbit hole and 

out the other side 
you can’t go home in the middle of the 
magic carpet ride 
you gotta greet the sun before his 
lovely daughter moon 
you can’t forsake the journey for the 
safety of your room 
until you learn your lesson well. 

Is it the stripes or the spots you see? 
Was it hearts or diamonds, baby, led you here to me? 
Darling, you know better than to trust a pack of cards! 
What have we learned, 
the world is never as mad as it could be. 

If I leave my grin behind, remind me 
we’re all mad here 
and it’s ok!

Listen and sing along!  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ueZo5i6GPg

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: “If I leave my grin behind remind me, that we’re all mad here, and it’s ok” | Radically Mad

Leave a Reply

